A new video presentation of Frank Moore’s book using photos, film and video footage from Frank’s life and performances. In “Art of a Shaman”, originally delivered as a lecture at New York University in 1990 as part of the conference, “New Pathways in Performance”, Frank Moore explores performance and art in general terms of them being a magical way to effect change in the world. He looks at performance as an art of melting action, ritualistic shamanistic doings/playings. By using his career and life as a “baseline”, Moore explains the dynamic playing within the context of reality shaping. He brings in concepts from modern physics, mythology and psychology. The full text of the book available here: http://www.eroplay.com/Cave/ArtShaman/artsham.html


“A Lucky Guy”
Readings by Gerald Smith & Martha Wilson
Background music: “bomg” by Stephen Emanuel

“A Wounded Healer”
Reading by Stephen Emanuel
Chapter Title Animation: Ink Paintings by Russell Shuttleworth, Photos by Stephan Lupino, Music by Barbara Golden
Background music: by Sander Roscoe Wolff

“Art of Reshaping Reality”
Reading by Michael LaBash
Chapter title animation music: Michael LaBash
Background music: Sander Roscoe Wolff

“Roots of Performance”
Reading by Annie Sprinkle
Chapter title animation music: Michael LaBash
Background music: Sander Roscoe Wolff

“A Channel, not a Creator”
Reading by Kayla Moon
Chapter title animation music: “Silenced” by +DOG+ from the album, “the misery of endless suffering” LEM-162 2015
Background music: Phog Masheeen

“Learning the Trickster’s Art”
Reading by Kirk Lumpkin
Chapter opening: “Blind Leading The Blind” by Spirit in Flesh
Background music: Sander Roscoe Wolff

Readings by David Steinberg & Paul Escriva
Background music: Michael LaBash
(Thanks to Phog Masheeen for the film reel sound effect)

“Art of Risking”
Readings by Linda Mac & Tha Archivez
Chapter opening: Excerpt from “Chaos Love Play Jam”, Erika Shaver-Nelson – vocals, Kirsten Rose – vocals & instruments from her bag of tricks, Michael Peppe – vocals, Stephen Jones – moog, Carlos – guitar, Skye – guitar, LX Rudis – moog voyager, Frank Moore – piano, vocals, Michael LaBash – mix/fx, recorded live on Frank Moore’s Shaman’s Den, October 29, 2003
Background music: Sander Roscoe Wolff

“Time, Community, Inter-Relations”
Readings by Richard Kerbavaz & John the Baker
Chapter title animation music: Michael LaBash
Background music: Sander Roscoe Wolff

“Theater Of Human Melting”
Reading by Paul Couillard
Chapter title animation music: Michael LaBash
Background music: excerpt from “I Can See The Sky” by Sander Roscoe Wolff

Opening/Closing music:
excerpt from “Body Music”
performed by Frank Moore’s Chero Company
Michael LaBash, Alexi Malenky, Rourke Smith & Leigh

Photos by:
Jim Appleton
Les Barany
Julian Cash
Craig Glassner
Ken Jennings
Tracy Kauffman-Wood
Eric Kroll
Michael LaBash
Daniel Lorenze
Linda Mac
Alexi Malenky
Debbie Moore
Dave Patrick
Kevin Rice
Annie Sprinkle
David Steinberg
Barbie Sue
Mary Sullivan

Illustrations by:
David Hochbaum
Lee Kay
Charles R. Knight [Public Domain]
Michael LaBash
Frank Moore
Justin Page
John Seabury

Additional footage:
One Got Fat: Bicycle Safety (1963) [Public Domain]
First Year Anniversary of the Berlin Wall (1962) [Public Domain]
One World or None (1946) [Public Domain]
The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920) directed by Robert Wiene [Public Domain]
The Night Of The Living Dead (1968) by George A. Romero [Public Domain]
Life and Passion of Christ (1903) [Public Domain]
“Five Minutes To Live” [Public Domain]
Washington D.C. and San Francisco footage: Prelinger Archives
“High Cost of Letting Go” by Carlisle (Robert W.): Prelinger Archives
Gould can 5227.3: Early San Francisco Vaudeville Act: Prelinger Archives
Santa Fe footage from David Santino Scott
Stock footage: Mitch Martinez www.mitchmartinez.com

Editing, Animation, and Titles:
Michael LaBash

Produced by
Linda Mac & Michael LaBash

Directed by
Frank Moore

Thanks to all of the readers so far …
Tha Archivez
Kenneth Atchley
Dr. Susan Block
Paul Couillard
Steve Davis
Stephen Emanuel
Paul Escriva
Edna Floretta
Barbara Golden
Fred Hatt
John the Baker
Dr. Richard Kerbavaz
Michael LaBash
Kirk Lumpkin
Linda Mac
Alexi Malenky
Jake McGee
Kayla Moon
Corey Nicholl
Carl Off
Vinnie Spit Santino
Erika Shaver-Nelson
Russell Shuttleworth
Linda Carmella Sibio
Gerald Smith
Megan Soriano
Annie Sprinkle
David Steinberg
Veronica Vera
Martha Wilson

And thanks to all of the musicians who have created and contributed music for this project so far …
K. Atchley
Stephen Emanuel
Father of Skins
Barbara Golden
Phog Masheeen
Vinnie Spit Santino
Sander Roscoe Wolff
Jerome T. Youngman (Mutant Press)

From the web series, LET ME BE FRANK.